The Region of Eastern Macedonia and Thrace is one of the regions of Greece. It is the secondary local government organization covering the northeastern edge of the country, namely the eastern part of Macedonia and the whole of Thrace. It also includes two major islands of the Thracian Sea, Thassos and Samothraki.

Regional Units:

  • Regional Unit of Drama
  • Regional Unit of Kavala
  • Regional Unit of Thassos
  • Regional Unit of Xanthi
  • Regional Unit of Rodopi
  • Regional Unit of Evros


Christodoulos Topsidis
Governor of Eastern Macedonia & Thrace Region